MainBanner

80 London Road West,
Guelph, ON N1H 2B7
Phone 519 824 6874
Toll Free 877 836 6874
Fax 519 824 5623
Email: info@londonhouse.ca
www.londonhouse.ca

Heritage Designation for Historical and Architectural Interest

Guelph LACAC 1990 

80 London Road West

This house is an unique example of 1890 period and it is an important element in the streetscape of London Road from #76 to #88 (designated). The house was built in 1893 for John G. Sully, but has suffered several alterations. During this century the front porch has been enclosed on the east side and the original trim removed form the remaining porch and a shingled skirt added. In 1984, the rear porch was removed and a clapboard addition added. In 1972 the property was subdivided and later became a rooming house.

The property has been the home of a number of Guelph’s leading citizens. John G. Sully, a carpenter, later became General Manager and half-owner of the Raymond Sewing Machine Company. Sully also served as a director of the Guelph Opera House, and alderman for St. David’s Ward, Chairman of the parks Committee and head of the Fire and Light Department. In 1905 the house was sold to Henry C. Scholfield (1866-1935) manager of the Dominion Bank in Guelph. From 1911-1914 Scholfield sat as a conservative for Wellington South in the Legislature and was responsible for several reforms in the provincial prison system. His charity interest were the Homewood Sanitarium, Toronto’s Sick Children’s Hospital and the Toronto Humane Society, the latter naming their building “Scholfield Hall” in his honour. Among other owners were George Powell Hamilton, Insurance Agent, 1912; Ivey Holmann of Holmann Luggage, 1929. Previous owners Andy and Melanie McLennan restored many of the original features, and converted the house into three legal apartments.

The designation includes the slate roof and roof line, the slate gables and heavy wood brackets, wooden soffits and cornice of the original house. Also included are the slate porch roofs excluding the later addition of an asphalt tile skirt, together with the east north and west facades of the house, not including later additions. Inside the burled oak staircase, stair railings and newel post, and the six original leaded glass windows are included in the designation.

Shirley Perrior

Bill Green


Plaque reads:

80 London Road West

Built in 1893 for John G. Sully. An unique example of 1890 period, this red brick house retains many notable features including the decorative slate roof, leaded glass windows and burled oak woodwork inside. 1990

Copyright © 2009-. All rights reserved. Duplication of this site is prohibited without the express written permission of London House Bed and Breakfast.